Database file access

Events, Record Keeping, Utilities

Moderators: Moderators, Tech Support

dwb

Database file access

Post by dwb »

Are the data files (DBF) files for PowerChurch dBase or another accessible format? I would like to have the ability to use an external reporting tool to gernerate data analysis. If not, does PowerChurch offer any ODBC drivers for the proprietary files?
Thanks,

David

Jeff
Program Development
Program Development

Post by Jeff »

PowerChurch is written in Microsoft Visual Foxpro. FoxPro uses a derivitive of the dBase file structure and not directly compatible with a plain dBase driver. An ODBC driver for FoxPro tables is available here: http://msdn.microsoft.com/vfoxpro/downl ... fault.aspx

Andrew Turner

Is Foxpro ODBC driver read only?

Post by Andrew Turner »

Here's a scary user for you. :-) I'm an experienced developer of 20+ years at a large Christian ministry trying to add effeciency to the things we do at my church with Power Church. I fully understand the consequences of breaking data and would never call tech support for a problem I created. I sympathize with your nervousness over users like me. I feel your pain. I do believe in backups and testing. However, I need to be able to update our files using other tools I've developed to streamline data entry.

For example, I can successfully export names from ME.dbf to an Access work file and present the list to a user who then clicks the names of people that were at a given service. I can then successfully SQL append the correctly formatted results back into ATDATA.dbf. Works great! Saves hours. However, I am prevented from other simple tasks I need to improve. I don't seem to be permitted to do SQL updates or deletes. This is a great disappointment. Is this maybe tied to the version of MDAC I have? Or do you have it somehow locked? There are other projects we want to do and I don't want to have to build an app using a separate (and redundant) name and address structure.