Transferred Amounts Appearing in Unrestricted Net Assets

Fund Accounting, Accounts Payable, Accounts Receivable, Payroll

Moderators: Moderators, Tech Support

shmarecki

Transferred Amounts Appearing in Unrestricted Net Assets

Post by shmarecki »

I am relatively new to the Power Church Tool and have been unable to find the answers to my question in the training manual. Our church has three separate accounts: Operating, Restricted, and Capital. I have established Transfer Accounts for the funds as directed in the manual. However, when I transfer funds, the amounts appear on my Balance Sheet as Unrestricted Net Assets. How do I move the amounts from unrestricted net assets to a line item in the new account. Example: Finance Committee approves additional funds for Youth Group trip to be paid from Operating to offset part of the transportation expenses. I transfer the funds from Operating to Restricted, but now need to show that income on the Youth line of our Restricted account, not the unrestricted net assets line. Thanks for any help.

NeilZ

Re: Transferred Amounts Appearing in Unrestricted Net Assets

Post by NeilZ »

shmarecki wrote:I am relatively new to the Power Church Tool and have been unable to find the answers to my question in the training manual. Our church has three separate accounts: Operating, Restricted, and Capital. I have established Transfer Accounts for the funds as directed in the manual. However, when I transfer funds, the amounts appear on my Balance Sheet as Unrestricted Net Assets. How do I move the amounts from unrestricted net assets to a line item in the new account. Example: Finance Committee approves additional funds for Youth Group trip to be paid from Operating to offset part of the transportation expenses. I transfer the funds from Operating to Restricted, but now need to show that income on the Youth line of our Restricted account, not the unrestricted net assets line. Thanks for any help.