Year Old Check Cashed

Fund Accounting, Accounts Payable, Accounts Receivable, Payroll

Moderators: Moderators, Tech Support

PVPC-Shelly

Year Old Check Cashed

Post by PVPC-Shelly »

I am new to the bookkeeping job at my church and need help with a situation. Or I may be overthinking it!

I had a check from June 2020 recently cashed by a vendor. Since this check was not showing up on my reconciliation reports, I'm assuming the previous BK accidentally marked it as cashed before this time. Now my thinking is it doesn't really affect my books from last year since it is a closed year. But my concern is that now my checking account is off the $532. Am I right in thinking this? If so, how do I fix it?

NeilZ

Re: Year Old Check Cashed

Post by NeilZ »

PVPC-Shelly wrote:
Thu Aug 05, 2021 12:48 pm
I am new to the bookkeeping job at my church and need help with a situation. Or I may be overthinking it!

I had a check from June 2020 recently cashed by a vendor. Since this check was not showing up on my reconciliation reports, I'm assuming the previous BK accidentally marked it as cashed before this time. Now my thinking is it doesn't really affect my books from last year since it is a closed year. But my concern is that now my checking account is off the $532. Am I right in thinking this? If so, how do I fix it?
This is one of the reasons the program (V12.2) will let you reopen closed years, and don't advise closing months. There really isn't a need to, as things like this sometimes happen.

What I would do is check last years reconciliation report to see exactly what was done with the check. If it was 'checked off' as clearing the bank or, more than likely it may have been voided in the system but the bank was not contacted to put a 'stop payment' on the check there.