Need help undoing equity mistakes

Fund Accounting, Accounts Payable, Accounts Receivable, Payroll

Moderators: Moderators, Tech Support

Classicaltutor

Need help undoing equity mistakes

Post by Classicaltutor »

I’m new to accounting and doing the church books. I saw equity accounts and started trying to zero them out by using those funds to pay bills due. If youth had 100.00 in the equity account I would then pay their pizza bill by crediting the bank-01 and debiting the youth equity account. I know now to only use an expense account to pay expenses.
My question is if I go through the journal and find every expense I paid with the equity account, add it up, how do I place funds back into the equity account and show the expense in the expense account?

NeilZ

Re: Need help undoing equity mistakes

Post by NeilZ »

Classicaltutor wrote:
Mon May 22, 2023 10:35 pm
I’m new to accounting and doing the church books. I saw equity accounts and started trying to zero them out by using those funds to pay bills due. If youth had 100.00 in the equity account I would then pay their pizza bill by crediting the bank-01 and debiting the youth equity account. I know now to only use an expense account to pay expenses.
My question is if I go through the journal and find every expense I paid with the equity account, add it up, how do I place funds back into the equity account and show the expense in the expense account?