Setting up Pledges for new year & Prepaid Pledges

Contributions, Faith Promises

Moderators: Moderators, Tech Support

trinityfinance

Setting up Pledges for new year & Prepaid Pledges

Post by trinityfinance »

This is my first year of entering pledges for a new year. We will be receiving pre-paid pledges as well. I would like a step-by-step for the process. I did not find a video on the website or on You Tube. I want to be sure I understand this because for the current year there are some prepaid pledges from 2016 that aren't showing on donor's 2017 contribution statements. I can't figure out how to fix those. Maybe that is where we should start. Your help would be appreciated.

Patty

NeilZ

Re: Setting up Pledges for new year & Prepaid Pledges

Post by NeilZ »

pattyvons wrote:This is my first year of entering pledges for a new year. We will be receiving pre-paid pledges as well. I would like a step-by-step for the process. I did not find a video on the website or on You Tube. I want to be sure I understand this because for the current year there are some prepaid pledges from 2016 that aren't showing on donor's 2017 contribution statements. I can't figure out how to fix those. Maybe that is where we should start. Your help would be appreciated.

Patty
First off .. if the pledge was 'prepaid' in 2016, the amount will not show up on the 2017 statements because it was paid in 2016. They should have shown up on the 2016 statement as contributions for 2016. You cannot claim donations made in a prior year, in the current year, per IRS rules.

As far as a 'step-by-step' process, get out the Powerchurch User Manual and turn to page 153, Understanding Pledges. This gives you a great overview of the process, along with step-by-step directions on adding new pledges.

As far as prepaid pledges, this is covered on page 158 of the manual under, Prepaid Pledges.