Stock contribution

Contributions, Faith Promises

Moderators: Moderators, Tech Support

gloaming

Stock contribution

Post by gloaming »

Please bear with me--I'm still new to this!

We had someone make a rather large stock donation last month. The stock was immediately liquidated, and the cash proceeds were deposited into our checking account. I entered the proceeds into PC under the correct envelope (which debited our checking account) and all seemed well...until our monthly statement arrived from Raymond James. It shows the receipt of stock, the withdrawal, and a small fee. How do I record all this?

Thank you!

NeilZ

Re: Stock contribution

Post by NeilZ »

gloaming wrote:Please bear with me--I'm still new to this!

We had someone make a rather large stock donation last month. The stock was immediately liquidated, and the cash proceeds were deposited into our checking account. I entered the proceeds into PC under the correct envelope (which debited our checking account) and all seemed well...until our monthly statement arrived from Raymond James. It shows the receipt of stock, the withdrawal, and a small fee. How do I record all this?

Thank you!
FWIW .. its never a good idea to enter such a donation through Contributions. The reason is that the IRS requires you to list the value of the stock on the day it was transferred.

This post along with the included link can help you with this.

https://www.powerchurch.com/forum/viewt ... ock#p24711

The following post talks about creating a 'stock transfer' contribution setup, but if you send a written acknowledgement/receipt as described, and add the required IRS statement about the donor receiving only non-tangible religious benefits this will suffice. All you need to do is show the income as miscellaneous.

However, if this was in fulfillment of a pledge, you will need to update the pledge by going into Maintain Pledges and add that amount to the 'pledge start balance', and show the income under tithes & offerings.